
 
City of Boulder 
Finance Department ∙ Licensing Division 
1777 Broadway, Boulder, Colorado 80302 ∙ 303 441‐4192 

 
MODIFICATION OF LICENSED PREMISES  

 
CHECKLIST OF REQUIRED DOCUMENTS 

 
If license is modifying premise according to state regulations or if applicant is applying for Transfer of Ownership 
and will be making changes to premise  (modifications,  include, but not  limited to:  increasing/decreasing seating 
capacity, adding/moving bar, adding or deleting a patio, removal of any interior walls, or changing the way alcohol 
is circulated in the premise etc.) then they are required to also submit the following:  
   
   Permit Application & Report of Changes  (State Form‐DR8442)  completed  in pertinent areas and  signed by 

authorized representative of applicant.  
 
   Proof of Possession ‐ Of the new area to be licensed (Deed, Lease, or Landlord Letter for Modification or new 

Area)   
 
  “Before” Floor Plan ‐ Must be submitted on 8‐1/2" x 11" paper and must include all items referred to in “Rules 

of Procedure.”  Use a highlighter to indicate the area(s) that are currently licensed.    
 
   “After” Floor Plan  ‐ Must be submitted on 8‐1/2" x 11" paper and must  include all  items referred  to  in  the 

“Rules of Procedure.”  Use a highlighter to indicate the area(s) that you want to have licensed.          
 
     Zoning/Planning Confirmation Sheet  (City Form)  to confirm  that change  is  in compliance with  local Zoning 

laws (not required for Temporary Modifications).                               
 
   Fees 

Permanent Modifications:  
 State Application Fee $150.00 ‐ Made payable to the “Colorado Department of Revenue”  
 City Application Fee of $100.00‐ Made Payable to “City of Boulder”.  
 
Temporary Modifications for Events:  
 State Application Fee $300.00‐ Made payable to “Colorado Department of Revenue”  
 City Application Fee   $50.00 ‐ Made payable to the “City of Boulder”   

 
 Application Process: Both Permanent Modifications and Temporary Modifications require a pre‐scheduled  in‐
person intake meeting with Licensing staff.  
 
Permanent Modifications require posting for the legally required 10 day period, an Application Hearing before the 
Beverage  Licensing Authority  (BLA)  and  petitions  should  be  submitted  at  least  9  days  prior  to  the  application 
public  hearing  to  indicate  the  neighborhood’s  need  and  desire  for  the  proposed  change.  If  BLA  approves 
application at hearing, licensing database should have change status updated to indicate form forwarded to state. 
For Permanent Modifications: when  received back,  applicant  should be  called or  emailed  to  schedule premise 
inspection  to observe modifications,  collect  Letter of Completion or Certificate of Occupancy  indicating proper 
building permit close out, and to provide applicant with state approved copy of state form for their records. 
 
Temporary Modifications require that the premise be posted for the legally required 10 day period, but that a BLA 
Hearing be held only if there is neighborhood or enforcement comment that would require a hearing. If negative 
comment  is not  received, Licensing  staff may administratively approve Temporary Modifications  for  the City of 
Boulder without  hearing  and mail  it  to  the  state  liquor  enforcement  division.  Licensing  database  should  have 
change  status updated  to  indicate  form  forwarded  to  state. For Temporary Modifications, when  received back, 
state  approved  copy  of  state  form  should  be mailed  to  licensee  applicant’s  business mailing  address  for  their 
records. 
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colorado department of revenue
LIQUOR ENFORCEMENT DIVISION
denver, Colorado 80261
(303)-205-2300

  

FOR DEPARTMENT USE ONLY

Current license number ____________________________ 
all answers must be printed in black ink or typewritten
local license fee  $ _________________________________ 
applicant should obtain A COLORADO LIQUOR & BEER CODE book to order call (303) 370-2165
1. Applicant is a

  Corporation......................................   Individual

  Partnership.......................................   Limited Liability Company

present license Number

2. Name of Licensee 3. Trade Name

4.Location Address

City County ZIP

Select the appropriate section below and proceed to the instructions on page 2.

Section A – Manager reg/change Section C

• License Account No. ___________________________________

1983-750 (999)    Manager's Registration (Hotel & Restr.)...$75.00

2012-750 (999)    Manager's Registration (Tavern)...............$75.00 

  Change of Manager (Other Licenses) NO FEE

2210-100 (999)    Retail Warehouse Storage Permit (ea).$100.00

2200-100 (999)    Wholesale Branch House Permit (ea)..... 100.00

2260-100 (999)    Change Corp. or Trade Name Permit (ea)..50.00

2230-100 (999)    Change Location Permit (ea)................... 150.00

2280-100 (999)    Change, Alter or Modify Premises 
$150.00 x ______ Total Fee _________________

2220-100 (999)    Addition of Optional Premises to Existing H/R 
$100.00 x ______ Total Fee _________________

1988-100 (999)    Addition of Related Facility to Resort Complex 
$75.00 x ______ Total Fee __________________

Section B – Duplicate License

• Liquor License No. _______________________________

2270-100 (999)    Duplicate License............................$50.00

do not write in this space – for department of revenue use only

Date License Issued License Account Number period

-750 (999) -100 (999)

The State may convert your check to a one time electronic banking transaction. 
Your bank account may be debited as early as the same day received by the 
State. If converted, your check will not be returned. If your check is rejected 
due to insufficient or uncollected funds, the Department of Revenue may collect 
the payment amount directly from your bank account electronically.

TOTAL 
AMOUNT DUE $	 .00

permit application
AND report of changes
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instruction sheet

For all sections, complete questions 1-4 located on page 1

   Section A

To Register or Change Managers, check the appropriate box in section A and complete question 
8 on page 4.  Proceed to the Oath of Applicant for signature (Please note: Hotel, Restaurant, and 
Tavern licensees are required to register their managers).

   Section B

For a Duplicate license, be sure to include the liquor license number in section B on page 1 and 
proceed to page 4 for Oath of Applicant signature.

   Section C

Check the appropriate box in section C and proceed below.

1) For a Retail Warehouse Storage Permit, go to page 3 complete question 5 (be sure to check the 
appropriate box). Submit the necessary information and proceed to page 4 for Oath of Applicant signature.

2) For a Wholesale Branch House Permit, go to page 3 and complete question 5 (be sure to check the 
appropriate box). Submit the necessary information and proceed to page 4 for Oath of Applicant signature.

3) To Change Trade Name or Corporation Name, go to page 3 and complete question 6 (be sure to check 
the appropriate box). Submit the necessary information and proceed to page 4 for  Oath of Applicant 
signature.

4) To modify Premise, go to page 4 and complete question 9. Submit the necessary information and 
proceed to page 4 for Oath of Applicant signature.

5) For Optional Premises or Related Facilities go to page 4 and complete question 9. Submit the  necessary 
information and proceed to page 4 for Oath of Applicant signature.

6) To Change Location, go to page 3 and complete question 7. Submit the necessary information and 
proceed to page 4 for Oath of Applicant signature.
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STORAGE









 PERMIT







5. Retail Warehouse Storage Permit or a Wholesalers Branch House Permit

 Retail Warehouse Permit for:

 On–Premises Licensee (Taverns, Restaurants etc.)

 Off–Premises Licensee (Liquor stores)

 Wholesalers Branch House Permit

Address of storage premise: __________________________________________________________________

City _______________________, County ________________________________, Zip __________________

Attach a deed/ lease or rental agreement for the storage premises. 
Attach a detailed diagram of the storage premises.

CHANGE








 TRADE






 NAME





 OR


 

CORPORATE












 NAME






6. Change of Trade Name or Corporation Name

 Change of Trade name / DBA only

 Corporate Name Change (Attach the following supporting documents)

1. Certificate of Amendment filed with the Secretary of State, or

2. Statement of Change filed with the Secretary of State, and

3. Minutes of Corporate meeting, Limited Liability Members meeting, Partnership agreement.

Old Trade Name New Trade Name

Old Corporate Name New Corporate Name

CHANGE








 OF


 LOCATION










7. Change of Location

NOTE TO RETAIL LICENSEES: An application to change location has a local application fee of $750 payable to your local licensing 
authority. You may only change location within the same jurisdiction as the original license that was issued. Pursuant to 12-47-
311 (1) C.R.S. Your application must be on file with the local authority thirty (30) days before a public hearing can be held.

Date filed with Local Authority _______________________ Date of Hearing ________________________

(a) Address of current premises ______________________________________________________________

City ________________________ County _______________________________ Zip ___________________

(b) Address of proposed New Premises (Attach copy of the deed or lease that establishes possession of the 
premises by the licensee)

Address ______________________________________________________________________________

City ________________________ County _______________________________ Zip ___________________

(c) New mailing address if applicable.

Address ______________________________________________________________________________

City ________________________ County _____________________ State ________ Zip _____________

(d) Attach detailed diagram of the premises showing where the alcohol beverages will be stored, served, 
possessed or consumed. Include kitchen area(s) for hotel and restaurants.
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8. Change of Manager or to Register the Manager of a Tavern or a Hotel and Restaurant liquor license.

(a) Change of Manager (attach Individual History DR 8404-I H/R and Tavern only)

Former manager's name _________________________________________________________________

New manager's name ____________________________________________________________________

(b) Date of Employment _________________
Has manager ever managed a liquor licensed establishment?.................................................. Yes    No 
Does manager have a financial interest in any other liquor licensed establishment?................ Yes    No 

If yes, give name and location of establishment _______________________________________________

________________________________________________________________________________________
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9. Modification of Premises, Addition of an Optional Premises, or Addition of Related Facility

NOTE: Licensees may not modify or add to their licensed premises until approved by state and local authorities.

(a) Describe change proposed _____________________________________________________________

___________________________________________________________________________________

___________________________________________________________________________________

(b) If the modification is temporary, when will the proposed change:

Start _________________ (mo/day/year)  End _________________ (mo/day/year)

NOTE: The total state fee for temporary modification is $300.00

(c) Will the proposed change result in the licensed premises now being located within 500 feet of any public or 
private school that meets compulsory education requirements of Colorado law, or the principal campus of any 
college, university or seminary?

(If yes, explain in detail and describe any exemptions that apply).............................................Yes    No 

(d) Is the proposed change in compliance with local building and zoning laws?.............................Yes    No 

(e) If this modification is for an additional Hotel and Restaurant Optional Premises or Resort Complex Related 
Facility, has the local authority authorized by resolution or ordinance the issuance of optional premises?

....................................................................................................................................................Yes    No 

(f) Attach a diagram of the current licensed premises and a diagram of the proposed changes for the 
licensed premises.

(g) Attach any existing lease that is revised due to the modification.

OATH OF APPLICANT
I declare under penalty of perjury in the second degree that I have read the foregoing application and all attachments 

thereto, and that all information therein is true, correct, and complete to the best of my knowledge.
Signature Title Date

REPORT AND APPROVAL OF LOCAL LICENSING AUTHORITY (city / county)
The foregoing application has been examined and the premises, business conducted and character of the applicant is 
satisfactory, and we do report that such permit, if granted, will comply with the applicable provisions of Title 12, Articles 

46 and 47, C.R.S., as amended. THEREFORE, THIS APPLICATION IS APPROVED.
Local Licensing Authority (City or County) Date filed with Local Authority

Signature Title Date

REPORT of state LICENSING AUTHORITY
The foregoing has been examined and complies with the filing requirements of Title 12, Article 47, C.R.S., as amended.
Signature Title Date
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Boulder Neighborhood Needs & Desire Petitioning 

After you have completed your application and submitted it for consideration, the Licensing Office will set 

hearing dates for your neighborhood boundaries and for your application public hearing. 

The neighborhood boundaries set are typically not less than 1/2 mile radius from the site proposed for a liquor 

license. The public hearing date will be not less than thirty (30) days from the date of receipt of your complete 

application by the Licensing Office.  

The Beverages Licensing Authority (the "Authority") will set your neighborhood boundaries, usually at the hearing 

the month before your public hearing. You are welcome to attend your boundary setting hearing or to submit 

suggested boundaries, but you are not required to do so.  

Before approving a liquor license application, the Authority must consider the reasonable requirements of the 

neighborhood and the desires of the adult inhabitants as evidenced by petitions, remonstrance, supporting 

witnesses or other evidence submitted by the applicant and by residents and business owners/managers of the 

designated neighborhood. In person witness testimony may be given at the hearing. Letters in favor or opposed 

to the  application should be submitted prior to the hearing.  

Although the law does not require that an applicant petition the neighborhood, it is the most common form of 

evidence presented. Signatures obtained from door to door petitioning must be from residents and business 

owners/managers of the Authority defined neighborhood. Please note that only door to door petitions will be 

considered by the Beverage Licensing Authority. For the resident petitions, all persons signing must be at least 21 

years of age and reside in the neighborhood. For the business petitions, all persons signing must be at least 21 

years of age and own and/or manage a business in the defined neighborhood. You must provide the Authority 

with sufficient evidence to support its findings that: 1) the reasonable requirements of the neighborhood establish 

a need for the issuance of the requested license, and 2) that the desires of the adult inhabitants dictate the 

issuance of the license. The Authority will also be looking to assure that a good sampling of the designated 

neighborhood was taken. 

If you choose to use the petitioning method for proving neighborhood needs and desires, the “Resident Petition 

Form” and the “Business Petition Form” created by the Licensing Office must be used in this process. Each door to 

door petitioner must carry and show at the door a copy of the “Designated Neighborhood Map” and the “Existing 

Licenses List” provided by the Licensing Office. The prepared “Petition Results Summary” should also be included 

with your petition signature pages to summarize the results.  

Each petitioner who has collected petition results door to door must include a signed "Affidavit of Circulator" that 

is notarized indicating that he/she personally witnessed each signature appearing on the petition and that, to the 

best of his/her knowledge, each signature is the signature of the person whose name it purports to be and that the 

address given opposite the person's name is the true residential or business address of the person signing the 

petition. Failure to affix a completed affidavit of circulator, including notarization, may cause petition invalidity 

concerns to be raised by the Authority. 

There are professional petitioning firms that you may contract with; however, the decision to use any such firm is 

entirely yours. If you choose a professional petitioning firm, they must also use the prepared petition forms and 

results summary. This information is meant only as a guideline provided as a courtesy by the City of Boulder. 

Applicants are encouraged to consult a private attorney for answers to legal questions or concerns. 


	Petitions Information.pdf
	Boulder Neighborhood Needs & Desire Petitioning


	Text1: 
	Text2: 
	Check Box1: Off
	Check Box2: Off
	Check Box3: Off
	Check Box4: Off
	Text3: 
	Text4: 
	Text5: 
	Text6: 
	Text7: 
	Text8: 
	Text9: 
	Text10: 
	Check Box5: Off
	Check Box6: Off
	Check Box7: Off
	Text11: 
	Check Box8: Off
	Check Box9: Off
	Check Box10: Off
	Check Box11: Off
	Check Box12: Off
	Check Box13: Off
	Text12: 
	Text13: 
	Check Box14: Off
	Text14: 
	Text15: 
	Check Box15: Off
	Text16: 
	Text17: 
	Text18: 
	Text19: 
	Text20: 
	Text21: 
	Check Box16: Off
	Check Box17: Off
	Check Box18: Off
	Check Box19: Off
	Check Box20: Off
	Check Box21: Off
	Check Box22: Off
	Text22: 
	Text23: 
	Text24: 
	Text25: 
	Check Box23: Off
	Check Box24: Off
	Text26: 
	Text27: 
	Text28: 
	Text29: 
	Text30: 
	Text31: 
	Text32: 
	Text33: 
	Text34: 
	Text35: 
	Text36: 
	Text37: 
	Text38: 
	Text39: 
	Text40: 
	Text41: 
	Text42: 
	Text43: 
	Text44: 
	Text45: 
	Text46: 
	Text47: 
	Check Box25: Off
	Check Box26: Off
	Check Box27: Off
	Check Box28: Off
	Text48: 
	Text49: 
	Text50: 
	Text51: 
	Text52: 
	Text53: 
	Text54: 
	Check Box29: Off
	Check Box30: Off
	Check Box31: Off
	Check Box32: Off
	Check Box33: Off
	Check Box34: Off
	Text55: 
	Text56: 
	Text57: 
	Text58: 
	Text59: 
	Text60: 
	Text61: 
	Text62: 


